Car Safety Issues Addressed With New Child Safety Laws in New Jersey
PUBLISHED BY: LFN Primary
Pennsauken, NJ (Law Firm Newswire) October 28, 2015 – There are new child safety laws in New Jersey that parents must follow when driving their children.
The rules became effective Sept. 1, and comply with recommendations set forth by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). One of the requirements is that children below the age of two whose weight is less than 30 pounds must be securely fastened in a seat that faces toward the rear and has a five-point harness.
Prior to the passage of the new law, parents had the option of placing their one-year-old child in the car seat face forward provided that the child’s weight exceeded 20 pounds. However, AAA Spokesperson Cathleen Lewis stated that the forward movement that propels their head forward puts a substantial amount of pressure on their neck and spine. And in the event that the parent turns the child around too quickly, the child will suffer more severe neck and spinal injuries.
Prominent New Jersey personal injury attorneys Petrillo & Goldberg said, “The latest rules represent an improvement over the previous law, and will likely help prevent young children from being severely injured or losing their lives in car accidents.”
The new regulation also states that children between ages two and four whose weight is 40 pounds or less are allowed to be in a seat that faces the rear or the front. The law goes on to say that children who are between ages four and eight whose height is less than 57 inches are required to be in a seat that faces the front or in a booster seat.
Furthermore, in vehicles that do not have a seat in the rear, such as a pick-up truck or a sports car, a child can be placed in a car seat or a booster seat in the front seat. However, the vehicle’s airbag on the passenger side is required to be disabled or turned off if a baby or toddler is riding in a car seat that faces the rear, and the car seat is attached to the front seat. This is because the impact of the airbag can cause injury to small children upon deployment.
According to legislators, New Jersey’s previous car seat laws were ambiguous and out-dated. And given the progress that has been made with regard to research and technological advances in car safety, recommendations of ways to safeguard children in vehicles are constantly evolving.
Those who fail to comply with the new laws may be fined an amount ranging from $50 to $75; this represents a marked increase from the previous fines of $10 to $25. There are police officers and firefighters throughout New Jersey willing to assist parents and caregivers in adhering to the new rules.Learn more at http://www.petrilloandgoldberg.com/ Petrillo & Goldberg Law 6951 North Park Drive Pennsauken, NJ 08109 1333 Race Street Philadelphia, PA 19107 70 South Broad Street Woodbury, NJ 08096 Phone: 856-486-4343 Fax: 856:486-7979